Medical Interpreting-The importance of a recognized certification

Certification in medical interpreting is paramount for ensuring the quality and professionalism of language access services in healthcare.

Certified interpreters not only meet rigorous standards of linguistic proficiency and cultural competence but also adhere to ethical guidelines and confidentiality standards. Beyond legal compliance, certification enhances interpreters’ credibility, opening doors for career advancement and collaboration with healthcare institutions.

The standardized qualifications provided by certification contribute to consistent and reliable communication in diverse healthcare settings, ultimately improving patient safety and satisfaction. Additionally, ongoing professional development requirements associated with certification ensure interpreters stay abreast of evolving medical terminology and cultural nuances, reinforcing their effectiveness in facilitating clear and accurate communication between healthcare providers and patients.

There are some regional certifications, however, the main recognized certifications in the UK, Canada, USA and Australia are:

Certification Commission for Healthcare Interpreters (CCHI):

CCHI offers the Certified Healthcare Interpreter (CHI) credential. It is recognized in the United States and some other countries. The certification is available for different languages.

National Board of Certification for Medical Interpreters (NBCMI):

NBCMI provides the Certified Medical Interpreter (CMI) credential. Similar to CCHI, it is recognized in the United States, and it’s available in various languages.

DPSI (Diploma in Public Service Interpreting) – Health Option:

This is a UK-based qualification offered by the Chartered Institute of Linguists. It is recognized for medical interpreting in the UK.

Language Access Credentialing (LAC):

LAC offers certification for medical interpreters in Canada. It’s recognized by various healthcare institutions in the country.

AUSIT National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI):

NAATI is the Australian national accreditation body for translators and interpreters. They offer accreditation for healthcare interpreters.

Certification requirements for medical interpreters vary globally, with several countries, emphasizing or preferring certified interpreters in healthcare settings. In the United States, certification is often preferred or mandated by healthcare organizations, with some states having specific regulations. Similarly, Canadian provinces, Australian regions, and healthcare institutions in the United Kingdom and New Zealand may impose certification requirements to ensure language access and compliance with local healthcare policies.

We at IMS Interpreter Management System are honoured to provide a system for scheduling and managing interpreters in health care.

For more information visit

Share this story
IMS Interpreter scheduling software smile

Join the conversation.

Enter your email below to stay informed.